B.C. municipal election 2018: Dawson Creek results

Dale Bumstead has been re-elected mayor of Dawson Creek, defeating rival Trenten Laarz. The incumbent won with nearly 86 per cent of the vote.

Blair Lekstrom, Jerimy Earl, Shaely Wilbur, Paul Gevatkoff, Charlie Parslow, and Amy Kaempf were elected to city council.  Incumbent Cheryl Shuman failed to be re-elected to council.



Dale Bumstead (Incumbent)

Trenten Laarz


Jerimy Earl

Paul Gevatkoff (Incumbent)

David Griffith

Amy Kaempf

Blair Lekstrom

Story continues below advertisement

Johanna Martens

Charlie Parslow (Incumbent)

Cheryl Shuman (Incumbent)

Shaely Wilbur (Incumbent)


Dawson Creek is a city in B.C.’s Peace River region. It’s just over 50 kilometres south of the Peace River and is accessible via Highways 2, 49 and 97.

Population (2016)



Railways have formed key points in the histories of numerous B.C. communities.

For Dawson Creek, it’s all about a highway.

After Pearl Harbor was attacked in 1941, the United States was concerned about future conflict. It started looking at options to increase its security.

Its solution? Build a way from Dawson Creek to Delta Junction, Alaska.

The U.S. built the highway to allow transportation over land so that airstrips along the Northwest Staging Route could be supplied.

The U.S. Army built what would come to be known as the Alaska Highway in seven months.

Story continues below advertisement

Dawson Creek’s population ballooned from 600 to as many as 10,000 people amid the construction of the highway.

But that’s not all that’s happened in Dawson Creek’s history. The area was once an agricultural community, with five grain towers built in 1930.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal/B.C.

145.53 (-17.15)/93.63 (-0.71)

RCMP – rural

85.58 (-15.23)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal/B.C.

145.90 (-15.23)/74.86 (-9.81)

RCMP – rural/B.C.

30.98 (-53.59)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Bob Zimmer (Conservative)


Mike Bernier (BC Liberals)

Story continues below advertisement