Nobel Prize winners are overwhelmingly men in 2017 — and every other year

The laureates of the Nobel Prize 2014 seen on stage at the Nobel Prize Awards Ceremony at Concert Hall on Dec. 10, 2014 in Stockholm, Sweden. Pascal Le Segretain/WireImage

Nobel Prize winners this year have something in common — they’re all men.

With the peace and economics prizes yet to be announced for 2017, science and literature awards have all been won by males.

READ MORE: Nobel Prize for Literature awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro

The prize for physics was won by three American researchers, Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish. The scientists were the first to detect the faint ripples in the universe called gravitational wave — something predicted by Albert Einstein’s general theory of relativity.

The prize for physiology or medicine was also awarded to three Americans, who discovered key genetic “gears” of the body’s 24-hour biological clock, the mechanism best known for causing jet lag when it falls out of sync.

WATCH: Trio of scientists win Nobel Prize for Chemistry

Click to play video: 'Trio of scientists win Nobel Prize for Chemistry'
Trio of scientists win Nobel Prize for Chemistry

The chemistry award was given to another three men — Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson — who pioneered ways to visualize biomolecules.

Story continues below advertisement

While there’s no dispute over the credibility of the winners’ work, there is a lack of diversity. And it’s something scientists have pointed out online.

READ MORE: U of T researchers contribute to work done by Nobel Physics Prize winners

Benjamin T. Saunders, a postdoctoral fellow, Johns Hopkins University, pointed out the problem by posting illustrations of this year’s winners.

Others shared similar sentiments.

Only 17 women have been awarded Nobel Prizes in the science categories since the program began in 1901. To put that in perspective, the physics award has been given to 207 people, the chemistry prize 178 times, and the medicine prize has been awarded to 214 people.

But more women are gradually being recognized for their work. Between 2001 and 2016, 19 women were given Nobel Prizes. That’s an increase from the seven women who got the distinction between 1961 and 1980.

WATCH: Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi win Nobel Peace Prize

Outside of science disciplines, the prizes are presented to women slightly more often. For example, 16 women have won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Story continues below advertisement

The 2017 winner of the Peace Prize will be announced Friday.

— With files from The Associated Press

Sponsored content