Meet Canada’s newest Senator: New Brunswick author David Adams Richards

New Brunswick author and playwright David Adams Richards has been named as Canada's newest Senator. Photo by Peter Power / The Globe and Mail

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced on Wednesday the identity of the newest Senator from New Brunswick, author and playwright David Adams Richards.

Richards is well-known for his commitment to the province of New Brunswick and the Miramichi River Valley in particular — He has based many of his stories in the area.

“I am pleased today to put forward another exceptional candidate as new Senator for the province of New Brunswick,” said Justin Trudeau in a press release issued to announce the appointment.  “I look forward to working with Mr. Richards, and all Senators, as they put their vast knowledge and experience to the service of our Parliament and our great country.”

Richards will sit as an independent Senator.

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

READ MORE: Justin Trudeau set to make New Brunswick visit Wednesday

Story continues below advertisement

Born in 1950 in Newcastle, N.B., as the middle child of six children, Richards is said to have realized his calling at the age of 14 after reading Charles Dickens’ Oliver Twist.

Richards became a published author by the age of twenty when he published his first novel, The Keeping of Gusties.

The author of 16 novels has lived across Canada, taking the position of writer-in-residence at Universities in New Brunswick, Ontario and Alberta.

WATCH: Canadian senators behaving badly, again

Click to play video: 'Canadian senators behaving badly, again'
Canadian senators behaving badly, again

His works have been translated into 12 languages and has been taught in universities throughout Canada and the United States.

Richards is one of only three writers to have won in both the fiction and non-fiction categories of the Governor General’s Literary Award.

Story continues below advertisement

He’s a member of the Order of New Brunswick and the Order of Canada.

Sponsored content