June 18, 2017 6:54 am
Updated: June 18, 2017 4:30 pm

Manitoba Marathon kicks off bright and early Sunday morning

ABOVE: The 39th annual Manitoba Marathon getting underway Sunday morning.


The Manitoba Marathon got underway Sunday morning on Chancellor Matheson Road.

This year saw runners follow a revised route and cross the finish line inside Investors Group Field instead of University Stadium. A unique change that made Manitoba the only province to have a marathon end on a CFL field.

READ MORE: Making sure every step counts: How the Manitoba Marathon route is measured

Global News live streamed the rainy race starts on this page and on our Facebook page.

The new Manitoba Marathon route will see racers cross the finish line in Investors Group Field.

Google Maps

RELATED: Better Winnipeg: Manitoba Marathon ‘huggers’ keep finish line tradition alive

Organizers said nearly 11,000 participants ran in the various races for the Manitoba Marathon.

Runners, friends and family took to social media Sunday morning to share pictures and videos from the annual race.

Story continues below

And they're off! #proudmom #manitobamarathon #marathonmom

A post shared by Heather Plett (@heatherplett) on

Our fitness levels are the envy of the community. #manitobamarathon #andtheyreoff

A post shared by Quinstagram (@johnquinton) on

Check out the Manitoba Marathon website for more information here and you can find the full interactive route map here.

Event Times:

  • Mini Mites Fun Run
    • 6:30 a.m.
  • Wheelchair Marathon and Half Marathon
    • 6:55 a.m.
  • Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries 26.2 mile Marathon
    • 7 a.m.
  • Intrepid Dezine 13.1 mile Half Marathon – Wave 1
    • 7 a.m.
  • Intrepid Dezine 13.1 mile Half Marathon – Wave 2
    • 7:10 a.m.
  • Manitoba Marathon Relay
    • 7:10 a.m.
  • GoodLife Fitness 10K
    • 7:15 a.m.
  • Great-West Life 2.6 mile Super Run
    • 7:15 a.m., 7:17 a.m., 7:19 a.m., 7:21 a.m.

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.