Over 150 Oilers players, alumni, staff to say farewell to Rexall Place

Click to play video 'Three-time Stanley Cup champ Craig Muni shares his memories of Rexall Place' Three-time Stanley Cup champ Craig Muni shares his memories of Rexall Place
WATCH ABOVE: Former Edmonton Oiler and three-time Stanley Cup champ Craig Muni sits down with Gord Steinke to share some of his fondest memories of Rexall Place. – Apr 5, 2016

EDMONTON – Paul Coffey, Marty McSorley, Mark Messier, Bill Ranford, Ryan Smyth and the Great One himself, Wayne Gretzky, are among the hockey royalty who will be on hand Wednesday to say a final goodbye to Rexall Place.

More than 150 former and current Oilers players, staff and special guests will be part of the farewell celebrations following the game against the Vancouver Canucks.

Former Oilers defenceman Craig Muni will be there. For Muni, the building holds special memories. He won three Stanley Cups during his seven years with the Oilers.

“Obviously the first one stands out a lot,” he said. “The second one, now you look back at it, Wayne (Gretzky) kind of organized that team photo right at centre ice after the win. It was the first time that was ever done. Now it’s still a tradition that’s carried on 25, 30 years later.”

Story continues below advertisement

READ MORE: Farewell Rexall Place: Share your favourite memories

Muni said his first NHL goal was another stand-out memory. He scored it against the Montreal Canadiens when Patrick Roy was in net.

But when he looks back on his years in Edmonton, perhaps the thing that stands out the most is the team that surrounded him.

“We had a great bunch of guys,” he said. “It was really a close-knit group of guys that had each other’s backs.

“I believe that was one of the main reasons why we had the success that we did. Everybody was basically like brothers.”

The alumni (listed below) will all be present at a public celebration at Churchill Square Wednesday at 12:15 p.m. They mayor will also be on hand for the festivities.

A few of the notable Oilers not on the list to attend include Bill Guerin, Doug Weight and Glen Sather, although all three are currently working with other NHL organizations.

Every player who has ever put on an Oilers jersey and played a game at the storied barn was invited back to bid the arena farewell.

READ MORE: Calling all Oilers: Team announces plans to say final farewell to Rexall Place

The puck drops at 5 p.m. Wednesday night. The start time was bumped up several hours from the original 8 p.m. start time to accommodate the post-game ceremony.

Story continues below advertisement

The event will involve a video tribute to the Oilers’ history at the building now known as Rexall Place. The tribute will include memories from the franchise’s time in the WHA, the glory years of the Stanley Cup dynasty teams, the team’s 2006 cup run, the modern era and everything in between.

“There are so many memories, stories, and hallmark moments in life that have occurred in the building for our fans and players alike, so it is important to recognize our time there with a celebration of this magnitude,” Oilers Entertainment Group vice chair Kevin Lowe said.

The Oilers have been preparing to say goodbye to the arena all season, with mini “Once an Oiler, Always an Oiler” tributes. Oilers alumni and other prominent people associated with the organization have been showcased at each home game.

Here’s the full list of Oilers alumni who will be in attendance Wednesday night at Rexall Place:

  • Anderson Glenn
  • Anderson Ron
  • Arndt Danny
  • Baird Ken
  • Baltimore Bryon
  • Beaton Frank
  • Belle Shawn
  • Bonvie Dennis
  • Brathwaite Fred
  • Brown Sean
  • Brown Ken
  • Callighen Brett
  • Carlyle Steve
  • Carter Anson
  • Chipperfield Ron
  • Coffey Paul
  • Connor Cam
  • Corson Shayne
  • Cowley Wayne
  • Cross Cory
  • Debrusk Louie
  • Deslauriers Jeff
  • Devereaux Boyd
  • Ennis Jim
  • Falkenberg Bob
  • Ferguson Scott
  • Ferraro Chris
  • Fitchner Bob
  • Fonteyne Val
  • Foster Norm
  • Friedman Doug
  • Fuhr Grant
  • Gage Joaquin
  • Gare Danny
  • Garon Mathieu
  • Gelinas Martin
  • Gilmore Tom
  • Glynn Brian
  • Graves Steve
  • Green Josh
  • Gretzky Wayne
  • Grieve Brent
  • Hamilton Al
  • Hawgood Greg
  • Herbers Ian
  • Hicks Doug
  • Hordichuk Darcy
  • Huard Bill
  • Hughes Pat
  • Hughes John
  • Ing Peter
  • Joseph Chris
  • Kassian Dennis
  • Kelly Steve
  • Ketter Kerry
  • Klima Petr
  • Krake Phil “Skip”
  • Kravchuk Igor
  • Krushelnyski Mike
  • Kulak Stu
  • Kurri Jari
  • Laforge Marc
  • Lamb Mark
  • Langevin Dave
  • Laraque Georges
  • Lemay Moe
  • Lindstrom Willy Staff
  • Linseman Ken
  • Long Barry
  • Low Ron
  • Lowe Kevin
  • Lumley Dave
  • MacDonald Blair
  • Mallette Troy
  • Maltby Kirk
  • Markkanen Jussi
  • McAmmond Dean
  • McAneeley Bob
  • McAneeley Ted
  • McDougall Bill
  • McGill Ryan
  • McKay Ray
  • McSorley Marty
  • Melnyk Larry
  • Messier Mark
  • Metcalfe Scott
  • Mio Eddie
  • Moller Mike
  • Moore Barrie
  • Muloin Wayne
  • Muni Craig
  • Neilson Jim
  • Nicholls Bernie
  • Olausson Fredrik
  • O’Marra Ryan
  • Passmore Steve
  • Patenaude Rusty
  • Pearson Scott
  • Perkins Ross
  • Pisani Fernando
  • Podein Shjon
  • Price Pat
  • Primeau Kevin
  • Ranford Bill
  • Reasoner Marty
  • Rice Steven
  • Rogers John
  • Roulston Tom
  • Ruotsalainen Reijo
  • Sandwith Terran
  • Semenko Dave
  • Sheehy Tim
  • Sherven Gord
  • Simpson Craig
  • Skorodenski Warren
  • Smith Geoff
  • Smith Doug
  • Smith Dan
  • Smyth Ryan
  • Strudwick Jason
  • Strueby Todd
  • Sutton Andy
  • Thornton Scott
  • Topolnisky Craig
  • Unger Garry
  • Van Dorp Wayne
  • Walters Ron
  • Ware Mike
  • Weir Stan
  • Werenka Brad
  • Zanier Mike
  • Zavisha Brad
  • Zuk Wayne


Sponsored content