Manitoba Election 2016: Minto riding

Summary: Incumbent MLA Andrew Swan is the only remaining member of the ‘rebel five’ running for the NDP, the five cabinet ministers who spoke out against the premier following the PST hike. Swan will try to hold on to the riding for the NDP against a number of rookie politicians.

Boundaries: The Minto riding lies inside the city, north of the Wolseley riding, east of St. James and west of Logan. Valour Road marks the western border while Banning Street and Langside Street run along the eastern border. Notre Dame Avenue and Portage Avenue run along the north and south border respectively.

Last Election: The NDP’s Andrew Swan was re-elected with 66 per cent of the votes followed by the Progressive Conservative’s candidate Belinda Squance who took home 15 per cent.

History: This riding was created by redistribution in 1999, made up mostly of the former St. James riding. It has been in the hands of the NDP since its creation in 1999. Before Andrew Swan, MaryAnn Mihychuk held the riding.


NDP: Andrew Swan, incumbent MLA

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Belinda Squance, restaurant consultant

Liberal: Demetre Balaktsis

Green: Martha Jo Willard, medical doctor

Manitoba Party: Virgil Gil

Independent: Don Woodstock, business owner

Communist Party of Canada – Manitoba: Andrew Taylor

Sponsored content