Manitoba Election 2016: Portage la Praire riding

Summary: This historically Progressive Conservative riding will see incumbent Ian Wishart try for re-election for a second term. Political rookies Stephen Prince with the Liberals and Alex MacDonald with the NDP will attempt to break the PC’s decades long hold over the riding.

Boundaries: This south central riding holds the city of Portage la Prairie in its centre with Highway 1 cutting through it east/west. St. Ambroise marks the northeast corner of the riding and Grant Colony sits in the southeast corner. Dakota Plains First Nation sits in the southwest corner and Macdonald is the farthest northwest reaching town in the riding. The towns of High Bluff, Poplar Point and Delta Beach are also included in this riding.

Last Election: Ian Wishart was elected as MLA of the Portage la Prairie riding with 51 per cent of the votes, continuing the PC’s decades long hold on the area. The NDP’s James Kostuchuk followed up with 39 per cent and the Liberal’s Michelle Cudmore-Armstrong took home eight per cent of the votes.

History: The Portage la Prairie riding has been a Progressive Conservative riding since the 1970’s. The party’s leader, Brian Pallister was first elected as an MLA in 1992 in this riding and was re-elected three years later before moving on to federal politics before becoming leader of the PC party.


NDP: Alex MacDonald, community organizer

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Ian Wishart, incumbent and opposition critic for Child and Family Services

Liberal: StephenPrince, licensing and lottery compliance manager