January 15, 2016 8:20 am

Metrolinx finalizes station names for Eglinton Crosstown LRT

Infrastructure Ontario/YouTube/Screenshot

The names of all 25 Eglinton Crosstown LRT stops were finalized during a special Metrolinx board meeting on Thursday.

The approval was deferred last month after three location names were questioned: Lebovic, Forest Hill and Fairbank.

Although the latter two were finally accepted as is, there were concerns about Lebovic which was not supported by TTC or local councillors.

A compromise was proposed and accepted to rename it Hakimi Lebovic, with Hakimi Avenue one block north of the stop, which is still in compliance with the naming principles and protocols.

The Metrolinx guidelines include having names which are unique, self-locating, logical, without duplication and repetition.

The board had to meet a contractual deadline of Jan. 20 or face a non-compliance financial penalty.

Full list of station names below:

  • Mount Dennis
  • Keelesdale
  • Caledonia
  • Fairbank
  • Oakwood
  • Cedarvale
  • Forest Hill
  • Chaplin
  • Avenue
  • Eglinton
  • Mount Pleasant
  • Leaside
  • Laird
  • Sunnybrook Park
  • Science Centre
  • Aga Khan Park & Museum
  • Wynford
  • Sloane
  • O’Connor
  • Pharmacy
  • Hakimi Lebovic
  • Golden Mile
  • Birchmount
  • Ionview
  • Kennedy

© 2016 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.