Federal Election 2015: Saskatoon West riding results

Summary: A new riding comprising most of the western part of the city, Saskatoon West is considered the NDP’s easiest bet for winning their first seat in Saskatchewan since 2000. There is no incumbent running here. Conservative MP Maurice Vellacott (Saskatoon-Wanuskewin) is not re-offering, and Conservative MP Kelly Block (Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar) is now running in the new riding of Carlton Trail-Eagle Creek.

Boundaries: All areas of Saskatoon west of the South Saskatchewan River, with the exception of those areas east of Warman and Wanuskewin Road. These areas were formerly represented by Saskatoon-Wanuskewin and Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar, but this year’s boundary redistribution divides Saskatoon’s urban population from the outlying rural areas.

Last Election: The two previous ridings here both elected Conservatives in 2011, Vellacot by 27 per cent, and Block by just 1.8 per cent. However, those wins were due to the strength of the Conservative vote outside the city of Saskatoon. If this new urban riding had existed in the last election, the NDP would have taken it by 8.6 per cent more votes than the Conservatives.

History: From 2000 to 2013, Saskatoon and the surrounding areas had been divided up into four ridings that contained part of Saskatoon, and part of the surrounding rural areas. In all five elections, the Conservatives took all four seats.

Former Governor General Ray Hnatyshyn held Saskatoon West (when it was a urban-rural hybrid) for the PC party from 1979 to 1988.

Story continues below advertisement

Demographics: 13.5 per cent of people in this riding identified as immigrants in the 2011 National Household Survey, the highest number in Saskatchewan.

READ MORE: Why Saskatoon West is a riding to watch this federal election


Conservative: Randy Donauer, Ward 5 City Councillor

NDP: Sheri Benson, United Way Saskatoon CEO

Liberal: Lisa Abbott, lawyer and advisor to several Aboriginal groups

Green: Glendon Toews, flying teacher and charter pilot Green

Canada Party: Jim Pankiw, party leader, former Reform/Canadian Alliance MP, 1997-2004

Libertarian: Bronek Hart