September 7, 2015 9:48 pm
Updated: August 5, 2016 9:20 pm

Federal Election 2015: South Surrey-White Rock riding results


Summary: Former Surrey Mayor Dianne Watts is running for the Conservatives in this riding, which has supported right-wing candidates since its inception. Conservative MP Russ Hiebert, who has represented this area since 2004, decided not to run again.

The Liberal Party had nominated Joy Davies as their candidate, but she stepped down after comments made about marijuana in 2013 came to light.

Story continues below

Boundaries: All areas of Surrey south of Highway 10, along with the entire municipality of White Rock

Last Election: Previously known as South Surrey—White Rock—Cloverdale, Conservative MP Russ Hiebert was re-elected to fourth term, defeating NDP challenger Susan Keeping by 34 per cent.

History: South Surrey and White Rock have exclusively elected right-wing candidates for as long as they have had their own riding.

Demographics: The median income of $34,974 is third highest in British Columbia.


Conservative: Dianne Watts, former three-term mayor of Surrey

NDP: Beverly “Pixie” Hobby, environment lawyer

Liberal: Judy Higginbotham, former longtime Surrey councillor

Green: Larry Colero, Certified Management Consultant

Libertarian: Bonnie Hu

Progressive Canadian: Brian Marlatt

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.