Alberta Election 2015: Liberal leader David Swann wins party’s sole seat in Calgary-Mountain View

WATCH: David Swann addresses supporters after his win in Calgary-Mountain View

It was a bittersweet election victory for David Swann.

The interim Liberal leader was re-elected in Calgary Mountain View for his fourth term, defeating his nearest challenger, NDP candidate Marc Chikinda, by more than 1,500 votes.

By night’s end, he was the only Liberal candidate elected. The party will go from five seats in the provincial legislature to one, as the NDP took the other four seats the Liberals held en route to a historic majority government win.

Orange crush: Rachel Notley’s NDP stomps out 44-year PC dynasty

“While the result is not what we envisioned, we respect the wisdom and the decision by the people of Alberta,” said Swann in a speech after he had secured his victory.

Story continues below advertisement

Swann, who became interim leader following the resignation of Raj Sherman, was effusive in his praise of the NDP.

“[A] truly history historic night for Alberta. You’ve spoken. You’ve voted for change. And frankly, it’s about time,” he said.

“I look forward to working with [Rachel Notley], advancing the progressive issues for hardworking Alberta families that they’ve been waiting for so long in this province.”

This inner-city riding, which borders the north shore of the Bow River, has elected Social Credit, Tory, NDP, and Liberal since it was created in 1971.
Swann has held it since 2004 and was able to withstand the NDP onslaught in Calgary.

“You’ve stood by me all these years, you’ve stood by Alberta for 110 years. Thank you, thank you, thank you,” he said to supporters.

With Swann as the Liberals’ sole MLA, it remains to be seen if the NDP will grant them official party status and the benefits that come with it.

Story continues below advertisement

As election night ended though, Swann said the Liberals would continue to be part of Alberta’s political fabric.

“Alberta Liberals have been there for you for 110 years, we will always be there for you.”


  • Liberal: David Swann (Incumbent)
  • Progressive Conservative: Mark Hlady
  • NDP: Marc Chikinda
  • Wildrose: Terry Wong