May 27, 2014 3:56 pm
Updated: June 11, 2014 1:05 pm

Ontario election 2014: Toronto Centre riding


View link »

On June 12, voters head to the polls in the 2014 Ontario election. Learn more about the candidates and political history of the riding of Toronto Centre.


Liberals: Glen Murray*
Progressive Conservatives: Martin Abell
NDP: Kate Sellar
Green:  Mark Daye


Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.40.19 AM

Story continues below
Located just to the east of the city’s financial district, Toronto Centre extends as far north as Mount Pleasant Cemetery and is bordered by Don River to the east and Yonge Street to the west – with the exception of the area between College and the CP Rail line, which is bordered by Avenue Road.


Glen Murray was elected to this traditional Liberal enclave by more than 13,000 votes in 2011. He was first elected in a 2010 byelection to replace former Health Minister and Toronto mayoral candidate George Smitherman.

View link »

By the numbers

The riding may include the posh neighbourhood of Rosedale, but it’s overwhelmingly the home of young apartment-dwellers – 52.1% of households have just one person. The average household size of 1.8 is the lowest in Ontario, as is the 30.5% rate of marriage for people over 15.

View link »

Riding in a tweet

Toronto Centre has areas that are friendly to all three parties, but the Liberals have been traditional favourites here for decades.

Poll-level results, 2011: Toronto Centre »

Poll-level results, 2011: Toronto Centre

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News