Election 2019: What it means to be a Canadian Independent MP

Since Canada’s last general election, scandal and controversy have led seven MPs to sit as independents, including former attorney general Jody Wilson-Raybould who resigned from Cabinet before being ousted from the Liberal caucus alongside Ontario MP Jane Philpott amid the SNC-Lavalin case. Wilson-Raybould and Philpott confirmed earlier this year they’d be running as independents in the upcoming federal election⁠— Here’s what that means, and the long odds they face as candidates without a political party machine.