Cavan-Monaghan elects Matthew Graham mayor over Daryl Bennett; Del Mastro loses council bid

Matthew Graham has been elected the next mayor of Cavan Monaghan Township.
Matthew Graham has been elected the next mayor of Cavan Monaghan Township. Cavan Monaghan Township

Two political veterans lost out in their bids to join Cavan-Monaghan Township council on Monday night.

Matthew Graham, who served as deputy mayor, was elected mayor after defeating former Peterborough, Ont., mayor Daryl Bennett. Unofficial results show Graham garnering 2,120 votes (60.2 per cent) to Bennett’s 1,399 votes (39.8 per cent).

The position was open after Scott McFadden decided not to seek re-election. Bennett served as Peterborough’s mayor from 2010 to 2018 (with businesses in the city) but resides in the township.

For deputy mayor, councillor Ryan Huntley earned the position, defeating former Peterborough MP Dean Del Mastro. Huntley received 2,001 votes (57.4 per cent) versus 1,484 for Del Mastro (42.6 per cent). Del Mastro served as a Conservative MP for the region from 2006 to 2014.

Read more: Voter fatigue, acclamations could spell low turnout in Ontario municipal elections

Read next: ‘Not the first time’ a Chinese surveillance balloon passed over U.S.: ambassador

Story continues below advertisement

In 2015 he was sentenced to 30 days in jail and four months of house arrest after being found guilty of violating the Canada Elections Act for exceeding spending limits and failing to report them. Del Mastro has also claimed his innocence.

Voter turnout was 3,565 (43.9 per cent) of the eligible 8,117 voters, according to the township.

Others elected to council:

Ward 1 (former North Monaghan)

Nelson Edgerton who received 470 votes to defeat Bob Walsh (307)

Ward 2 (former Cavan)

Gerry Byrne with 464 votes defeated four other candidates including incumbent Bill Shaw:

  • Janet Heeringa 397 votes
  • Bill Shaw 193 votes
  • Valerie Kent 149 votes
  • Craig Shields 13 votes

Ward 3 (former Millbrook)

Lance Nachoff received 469 votes to be elected over three other candidates:

David Lundrigan 354
Louise Bedford 334
Kathie Lycett 272

Click to play video: 'Ontario residents head to polls in municipal elections'
Ontario residents head to polls in municipal elections

Sponsored content