5 candidates vying for mayor’s seat in Peterborough

Five candidates are vying for mayor of Peterborough, Ont. including, from left, Brian Lumsden, Henry Clarke, Jeff Leal, and Stephen Wright. Missing: Victor Kruez. Submitted photos

Editor’s Note: An earlier version of this story included three candidates who had been identified by the City of Peterborough’s official elections webpage at the deadline for nomination submissions. The story has since been updated to include five candidates.

The City of Peterborough, Ont., will have a new mayor this fall, with five candidates seeking the city’s top spot.

In the spring, Mayor Diane Therrien announced she would not be seeking re-election and would step away after serving one four-year term in the role.

Read more: Peterborough Mayor Diane Therrien drops F-bomb tweet on Romana Didulo followers

The municipal election is Monday, Oct. 24 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. The current council’s term will end on Nov. 15.

As of Friday’s 2 p.m. deadline to submit nomination paperwork, the following individuals are vying for the mayor’s seat (all applications will be certified by the city clerk on Monday):

Story continues below advertisement
  • Henry Clarke
  • Stephen Wright
  • Jeff Leal
  • Brian Lumsden
  • Victor Kreuz

The following individuals are seeking a seat on city council. Each ward is represented by two councillors:

Otonabee Ward:

  • Lesley Parnell (incumbent)
  • Kevin Duguay
  • Chanté White
  • Eleanor Underwood
  • Nathan Russell-Meharry

Monaghan Ward:

  • Jeff Westlake
  • Matt Crowley
  • Charmaine Magumbe
  • Lyle Saunders
  • Don Vassiliadis (incumbent)
  • Tom Wigglesworth

Town Ward:

  • Dean Pappas (incumbent)
  • Alex Bierk
  • Brian Christoph
  • Joy Lachica
  • Vickie Ann Karikas

Asburnham Ward:

  • Gary Baldwin (incumbent)
  • Keith Riel (incumbent)
  • Andrew MacGregor

Northcrest Ward 

  • Dave Haacke
  • Carlotta James
  • Andrew Beamer (incumbent and first deputy mayor)
  • Shauna Kingston
  • Aldo Andreoli
  • Karen Grant

The term of office is four years, beginning on Nov. 15 and ending Nov. 14, 2026.

The city will offer a number of advance voting opportunities including online voting beginning Oct. 1.

Advance polls will be held on Saturdays in October – Oct. 8, 15 and 22 – from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the following locations:

Story continues below advertisement
  • Ward 1: Healthy Planet Arena, 911 Monaghan Rd.
  • Ward 2: Westdale United Church, 1509 Sherbrooke St.
  • Ward 3: Peterborough Public Library, 345 Aylmer St. N.
  • Ward 4: Lions Club, 347 Burnham St.
  • Ward 5: Northview Community Church, 1000 Fairbairn St.
Click to play video: 'Municipal election sign rules vary from one Ontario municipality to another'
Municipal election sign rules vary from one Ontario municipality to another

Sponsored content