New Brunswick election: Fredericton-York

PC candidate Ryan Culling takes Fredericton-York riding from PANB incumbent in the 2020 election.

Riding background

Fredericton-York was created as part of the 2013 redistricting out of three former ridings: Fredericton-Fort Naswaak, Fredericton-Nashwaaksis and York North.

Read more: All our New Brunswick election 2020 coverage


Liberal: Randy McKeen

Progressive Conservative: Ryan P. Cullins

NDP: Steven J. LaForest

Green: Melissa Fraser

People’s Alliance: Rick DeSaulniers (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

KISS N.B.: Gerald Bourque



People’s Alliance candidate Rick DeSaulniers won with 33.7 per cent of the vote, beating PC incumbent Kirk MacDonald in a near-three per cent difference.


York North PC incumbent Kirk MacDonald won the newly created Fredericton-York seat with 35.4 per cent of the vote in 2014.


MacDonald won the riding of Mactaquac in 1999 and York North in 2003, 2006 and 2010.

Fredericton-Fort Naswaak and Fredericton-Nashwaaksis flipped in the 2010 election from Liberal to PC.