2019 Canada election results: Saint-Jean

Global News has declared Bloc Québécois Christine Normandin the winner in the Saint-Jean riding with 45.1 per cent of the vote.

Voters in Saint-Jean elected Liberal Jean Rioux in the 2015 federal election with 33.16 per cent of the vote.

Rioux did seek re-election in the 2019 federal election.

Boundaries: An large, predominately rural seat in southeast Montérégie, this riding includes most of Le Haut-Richelieu. The majority of voters are in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

History: The riding has existed since the 1968 election, and like many Quebec electoral districts outside Montréal, has followed a similar pattern: Voters elected Bloc Québécois exclusively between 1993 and 2011, elected PC candidates from 1984 to 1993, and Liberal candidates throughout the Trudeau era.


Liberal: Jean Rioux (Incumbent)

Bloc Québécois: Christine Normandin

Green: André-Philippe Chenail

NDP: Chantal Reeves

Conservative: Martin Thibert

PPC: Marc Hivon


Sponsored content