October 12, 2018 11:10 pm
Updated: October 23, 2018 10:18 am

Newmarket election results 2018


*All results unofficial.

In Newmarket, a town of about 85,000 in York Region, Mayor Tony Van Bynen is not seeing re-election.

Joe Wamback and former deputy mayor John Taylor are looking to take his place. In addition to electing councillors for each of the town’s seven wards, Newmarket residents will also elect a representative to serve on York Regional Council.


Talib Ansari (has withdrawn)
John Taylor
Joe Wamback

Ward 1
Naqi Ahsan
Grace Simon
Rohit Singh

Ward 2
Bill Kukulewich
Victor Woodhouse

Ward 3
Jane Twinney (incumbent)
Jack Zangari

Ward 4
Trevor Morrison
Grant Waddell
Melissa Williams

Ward 5
Ron Eibel
Bob Kwapis (incumbent)

Ward 6
Kelly Broome (acclaimed)

Ward 7
Christina Bisanz (acclaimed)

Regional Councillor/deputy mayor
Chris Emanuel
Joan Stonehocker
Tom Vegh

Global News
Help us improve Globalnews.ca

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on globalnews.ca, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.