April 18, 2016 3:51 pm
Updated: August 4, 2016 7:05 pm

Manitoba Election 2016: Rossmere riding


Summary: NDP MLA Erna Braun seeks a third term in Rossmere, one of the many ridings on Winnipeg’s east side the PCs believe they have a chance of taking this election.

Boundaries: A large riding in northeastern Winnipeg, the riding stretches from the Red River to the Transcona Bioreserve.

Last Election: Braun defeated PC candidate Kaur Sidhu by over 1900 votes, 56-36 per cent.

Story continues below

History: Rossmere has been held by the NDP since 1999, and won by them in 8 of 11 elections in which it has been contested. Former MLAs here include former NDP Premier Ed Schreyer, and former Conservative Party MP and Justice Minister Vic Toews.


NDP: Erna Braun, Labour Minister and MLA since 2007

Progressive Conservative: Andrew Micklefield, principal at faith-based King’s School

Liberal: Malli Aulakh

Manitoba Party: William Sullivan

© 2016 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.