Manitoba Election 2016: Charleswood riding

Summary: Myrna Driedger seeks a fifth full term in Charleswood, perhaps the safest PC riding in Winnipeg

Boundaries: A large suburban riding on the western outskirts of Winnipeg, Charleswood is bordered by the Assiniboine River to the north, and Laxdal Road for most of its eastern boundary.

Last Election: Driedger defeated NDP candidate Paul Beckta by over 2200 votes, 56-30 per cent.

History: The riding was created prior to the 1969 riding, and the Progressive Conservatives have never lost it. Past Charleswood MPs include Sterling Lyon, who was Manitoba Premier from 1977 to 1981, and Filmon-era cabinet minister Jim Ernst.


NDP: Janna Barkman, Youth Program Coordinator at FortWhyte Alive

Progressive Conservative: Myrna Driedger, MLA since 1997

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Paul Brault, teacher at Red River College

Green: Kevin Nichols

Sponsored content