October 20, 2015 12:30 am
Updated: October 20, 2015 12:32 am

Toronto-Danforth won by Julie Dabrusin in unexpected victory for the Liberals


Liberal underdog candidate Julie Dabrusin has beaten longtime incumbent Craig Scott in the Toronto-Danforth riding in a surprise victory.

Scott took over the riding from the late Jack Layton in a 2012 by-election and was expected to keep the seat.

The former Conservative candidate Tim Dutaud stepped down in September after it was made public that he appeared in several YouTube videos making prank calls mocking people with disabilities.

Story continues below

The Conservatives scrambled to get a new candidate in place for the election, choosing small business owner Benjamin Dichter to replace Dutaud.

In the 2012 by-election, Scott defeated Liberal Grant Gordon by 9,995 votes, a margin of nearly 31 per cent.

Bob Rae, then running for the NDP, was the first MP elected in Toronto-Danforth and the NDP kept the seat until 1988 when Liberal Dennis Mills was elected. He held the seat until 2004, when he was defeated by Jack Layton.

The boundaries of this riding have not changed since 2011, extending to the Don River in the north and Lake Ontario and Aquatic Park to the south. The riding also includes Danforth Village and Riverdale.

See full results fort this riding here.

Live real-time results of the 2015 federal election

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.