Federal Election 2015: Timmins-James Bay riding results

Summary: NDP MP Charlie Angus has held this seat since 2004, and is seeking a fifth term. His Conservative and Liberal challengers are both former Timmins city councillors.

Boundaries: This large riding in northeastern Ontario has had only minor adjustments made to its southern boundary since the last election.

Last Election: NDP Angus defeated Conservative Bill Greenberg with 50.4  per cent of the vote.

History: This riding was created in 1997. Liberal MP Réginald Bélair won the first two elections here. Angus took the seat after Bélair retired.

Demographics: This riding has the lowest number of immigrants (3.4 per cent, according to the 2011 National Household Survey) of any electoral district in Ontario. French is the first language of 30.6 per cent of residents, fourth most in the province, and 14.2 per cent identify as Aboriginal, third most in the province.


Conservative: John Curley, former Timmins councillor

NDP: Charlie Angus, MP since 2004

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Todd Lever, lawyer, former Timmins councillor

Green: Max Kennedy, teacher

Sponsored content