September 8, 2015 9:55 am
Updated: August 5, 2016 8:18 pm

Federal Election 2015: Scarborough North riding results


Summary: This is a new riding for 2015. NDP MP Rathika Sitsabaiesan, who was first elected in 2011 in the former riding of Scarborough-Rouge River, is seeking re-election here.

Boundaries: Scarborough North was carved out of the western half of the former Scarborough-Rouge River riding, along with a small piece of Scarborough-Agincourt.

Last Election: If this riding existed in 2011, the NDP would have won with 35.4 per cent of the vote, followed closely by the Conservatives, with 33.4 per cent.

Story continues below

History: The former Scarborough-Rouge River riding was held by Liberal MP Derek Lee from 1998 until he retired from politics in 2011. The new Liberal candidate, Rana Sarkar, fell to third place in the subsequent election, with Conservative Marlene Gallyot taking second to NDP Rathika Sitsabaiesan. Sitsabaiesan made history of her own that year, as the first Canadian of Tamil origin to be elected to Parliament.

Demographics: 56.25 per cent of residents were born in Asia as of the 2011 census, the highest figure in Canada. In total, immigrants make up 68.4 per cent of the population, also the highest in Canada. Reported median income is $20,482 as of the 2011 National Household Survey, lowest in the province.


Conservative: Ravinder Malhi, business owner

NDP: Rathika Sitsabaiesan, MP since 2011

Liberal: Shaun Chen, Chair, Toronto District School Board

Green: Eleni MacDonald

Independent: Aasia Khatoon

Independent: Raphael Rosch

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.