September 7, 2015 9:37 pm
Updated: August 5, 2016 10:02 pm

Federal Election 2015: Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot riding results


Summary: An urban-rural riding, Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot will elect a new MP for the third straight election this year, as NDP MP Marie-Claude Morin is stepping down.

Boundaries: A mid-sized riding an hour east of Montreal, the electoral district includes the regional municipalities of Les Maskoutains and Acton. The largest city by far in the riding is Saint-Hyacinthe.

Last Election: NDP candidate Marie-Claude Morin defeated BQ MP Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac by 27.8 per cent.

Story continues below

History: Prior to Morin’s election, the riding had gone to the Bloc in every election since 1993. Before that, it was predominately a Progressive Conservative riding—the party won 10 of 12 general elections here between 1957 and 1988.


Conservative: Réjean Léveillé, former TVA journalist

NDP: Brigitte Sansoucy, Saint-Hyacinthe city councillor since 2009. She ran for the NDP in the 2008 election, finishing third

Liberal: René Vincelette, Vice-President of Human Resources at Groupe Lacasse. He ran for the Conservatives in the 2008 election, finishing second

Green: Lise Durand

Bloc Québécois: Michel Filion, public management consultant

Independent: Ugo Menard

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.