September 7, 2015 9:33 pm
Updated: August 5, 2016 10:11 pm

Federal Election 2015: Brossard-Saint-Lambert riding results


Summary: A new riding for 2015. NDP MP Hoang Mai, who won a seat for the first time in the former riding of Brossard-La Prairie in 2011, is running for re-election here. It’s a rematch with Liberal Alexandra Mendès, who was the MP for that riding from 2008 until her defeat by Mai in 2011.

Story continues below

Boundaries: This riding is in the south shore area of metropolitan Montreal and includes, as its name suggests, Brossard and Saint-Lambert. Those communities were previously represented by two different ridings, Brossard-La Prairie and Saint-Lambert.

Last Election: Had this riding existed in 2011, the NDP would have earned 36.8 per cent of the vote, followed by the Liberals with 32.8 per cent.

History: Both of the former ridings that represented this area elected NDP MPs in 2011. The former riding of Brossard-La Prairie had voted mostly Liberal from 1997 to 2008, with a one-term Bloc Québécois win in 2006. The former riding of Saint-Lambert elected Liberals in 1997 and 2000, then elected BQ members for three terms in a row.

Demographics: The average income is $45,448 as of the 2011 National Household Survey, seventh highest in Quebec.


Conservative: Qais Hamidi, owner, consulting business

NDP: Hoang Mai, MP since 2011

Liberal: Alexandra Mendès, former MP

Bloc Québécois: Suzanne Lachance, retired  human resources manager, former Longueuil councillor

Green: Fang Hu

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.