Federal Election 2015: Nunavut riding results

Summary: Environment Minister Leona Aglukkaq is seeking re-election in Nunavut, the most remote of Canada’s 338 electoral districts.

Boundaries: This riding comprises all of the territory of Nunavut.

Last Election: Leona Aglukkaq defeated Liberal candidate Paul Okalik by 21.2 per cent to win her second term in the riding.

History: Prior to Aglukkaq, Liberal MP Nancy Karetak-Lindell held this riding from 1997 to 2008.

Demographics: This riding has the lowest median age in the country (24.1) and the highest percentage of Aboriginals (86.9%). Just 29.4 per cent of people consider English or French as their mother tongue, the lowest in the country.


Conservative: Leona Aglukkaq, MP since 2008

NDP:  Jack Anawak, MP for the riding (when it was known as Nunatsiaq) from 1988 to 1997

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Hunter Tootoo, MLA for Iqaluit Centre from 1999 to 2013

Green: Spencer Rocchi, teacher

Sponsored content