After years of construction, Upper Fort Garry opens to public
WINNIPEG – It’s been nearly a decade of fundraising and construction delays, but Upper Fort Garry on Main Street and Assiniboine Avenue is officially open.
Since 2006, The Friends of Upper Fort Garry have been working on revitalizing the space, turning it into a unique spot for visitors to interact with its history.
The site officially became Upper Fort Garry Provincial Park last summer, with an unveiling in October, 2014.
Upper Fort Garry is known as the birthplace of Winnipeg and was built around 1835.
The Friends of Upper Fort Garry will launch a mobile app on Aug. 14 that will let visitors learn more about the park in an interactive way.