Alberta Election 2015: NDP’s Trevor Horne wins Spruce Grove-St. Albert

The NDP’s Trevor Horne has taken the riding of Spruce Grove-St. Albert.

Horne, a Political Science student at MacEwan University, was leading PC candidate Rus Matichuk by over 15000 votes with 38 of 100 polls reporting.

The Spruce Grove-St. Albert riding contains the Spruce Grove and other areas on the outskirts of Edmonton, along with St. Albert north of McKenney Avenue and west of Highway 2.

The area had been held by former finance minister Doug Horner since 2001, when he defeated two-term Liberal MP Colleen Soetaert. But Horner announced in January he was retiring, and officially stepped down later that month.


  • Progressive Conservative: Rus Matichuk
  • NDP: Trevor Horne
  • Wildrose: Jaye Walter
  • Liberal: Reg Lukasik
  • Alberta Party: Gary Hanna
  • Green Party: Brendon Greene

*NOTE: This article will be updated with riding results after the polls close on election night. Click here for full provincial election results.

Story continues below advertisement