Alberta Election 2015: Wildrose’s Todd Loewen wins Grande Prairie-Smoky

The Wildrose Party have taken the seat of Grande Prairie-Smoky from the Progressive Conservatives.

With all 89 polls reporting, Todd Loewen has been elected with 5,379 votes. The NDP’s Todd Russell finished second with 4,961 votes.

PC MLA Everett McDonald, first elected in 2012, finished third with 4,947 votes.

Grande Prairie-Smoky is a riding in northwestern Alberta. The riding includes the north part of the City of Grande Prairie as well as the towns of Fox Creek, Sexsmith and Valleyview.

It has been a Conservative stronghold for decades. The current MLA is PC Everett McDonald, who was first elected in 2012.

He will face off for the second time against Wildrose candidate Todd Loewen, who lost by more than 500 votes in 2012.

Story continues below advertisement


  • Progressive Conservative: Everett McDonald (Incumbent) 
  • Wildrose: Todd Loewen
  • NDP:  Todd Russell
  • Liberal: Kevin McLean

*NOTE: This article will be updated with riding results after the polls close on election night. Click here for full provincial election results.