May 5, 2015 11:12 pm
Updated: May 5, 2015 11:13 pm

Alberta Election 2015: Wildrose’s Derek Fildebrandt wins Strathmore-Brooks


Derek Fildebrandt has taken the riding of Strathmore-Brooks for the Wildrose.

Fildebrandt had a solid lead in early results with 53 per cent of the vote, to PC challenger Molly Douglass’ 31 per cent.

Fildebrandt was a star candidate for the Wildrose, as the former Alberta director of the Canadian Taxpayers Federation.

Beginning in 1997, this rural constituency southeast of Calgary has voted solidly PC. But, in 2012, Jason Hale took the seat for the Wildrose. He crossed the floor to the PC party in 2014, and decided not to seek re-election in 2015.


  • Progressive Conservative: Molly Douglass
  • Wildrose: Derek Fildebrandt
  • NDP: Lynn MacWilliam
  • Liberal: Ali Abdulbaki
  • Alberta Party: Einar Davison
  • Green: Mike Worthington
  • AFP: Glen Dundas

Click here for full provincial election results.

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.