April 27, 2015 10:24 pm
Updated: May 6, 2015 5:47 pm

Alberta Election 2015: Liberal Laurie Blakeman loses Edmonton-Centre


NDP’s David Shepherd took Liberal Laurie Blakeman’s seat in Edmonton-Centre.

The riding, situated in the city’s core, is the oldest riding in Edmonton. It was created in 1957.

The riding has been held by the Liberals since 1993. Blakeman has been the MLA since 1997.

Back in March, Blakeman was nominated into three parties: the Liberal Party, the Alberta Party, and the Green Party.

“Obviously, it’s not the result that I was hoping for, and it’s certainly not the result my team worked for, but I have always believed in the great constituents of the fabulous contingency of Edmonton-Centre,” said Blakeman on Tuesday night.

“People really, really wanted change.”

“We’re going to settle down here… and celebrate all the good memories we’ve got from 18 years worth of work.”


  • Liberal: Laurie Blakeman (Incumbent)
  • Progressive Conservative: Catherine Keill
  • NDP: David Shepherd
  • Wildrose: Joe Byram
  • Independent: Greg Keating
  • Independent: Rory Joe Koopmans

Click here for full provincial election results.

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.