Former Winnipeg Jets head coach headlines Hall of Fame Class

Former Ottawa Senators and Winnipeg Jets head coach John Paddock is the new coach of the Regina Pats. Sean Kilpatrick / The Canadian Press

WINNIPEG — Plenty of big names included in the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2015. Former Winnipeg Jets general manager and head coach John Paddock leads the list of ten people and three teams set for induction.

Paddock, from Oak River is the current Head Coach of the Western Hockey League’s Regina Pats. He coached the Jets from 1991 to 1995 and also held the G.M. title for parts of four seasons. The now 60-year-old was also the head coach of the Ottawa Senators and guided both the Hershey Bears and the Hartford Wolf Pack to Calder Cup championships in the American Hockey League.

The former member of the Brandon Wheat Kings also played parts of five seasons in the NHL with the Washington Capitals, Philadelphia Flyers and the Quebec Nordiques.

Joining Paddock in the builders category is Gladstone’s Andy Murray. He held head coaching jobs with both the St. Louis Blues and the Los Angeles Kings and also won three gold medals as coach for the Canadian National team.

Story continues below advertisement

Four players were chosen for induction: Cam Connor, Sheldon Kennedy, Curt Ridley and “Cully” Wilson.

Also part of the class of 2015, Al Hares and Dianne Woods as builders, Gerry Varnes as an official and Scott Oake selected in the media category.

Three teams were also chosen for induction including the 1953-54 Dauphin Kings, 1979-80 Transcona Railers and the 1975-76 Deloraine Royals.

They’ll all be inducted at a dinner on October 3.

Sponsored content