May 26, 2014 1:12 pm
Updated: June 11, 2014 2:38 pm

Ontario election 2014: Peterborough riding


View link »

On June 12, voters head to the polls in the 2014 Ontario election. Learn more about the candidates and political history of the riding of Peterborough.


Liberals: Jeff Leal*
Progressive Conservatives: Scott Stewart
NDP: Sheila Wood
Green:  Gary Beamish


Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.32.28 AM

Story continues below
Encompassing the city of Peterborough and the rural lands to the east of it, this district goes as far south as Rice Lake, as far north as Lower Buck Horn Lake (excluding a small area to the east of Stoney Lake), and as far east as the Marmora boundary.


The ultimate bellwether riding, Peterborough has elected an MPP from the governing party every election since 1987. Last election, Jeff Leal was elected to his third term, defeating PC candidate Alan Wilson by just over 4,000 votes. The NDP historically do well in the centre of Peterborough, the Liberals in the city suburbs, and the PCs in the rural areas.
View link »

By the numbers

The median age of 44.3 is 4th highest in southern Ontario, as is the percentage of people for whom English is their first language (92.5%).
View link »

Riding in a tweet

The riding of Peterborough has gone to the party that won the most seats on election night the last eight elections. Will it be nine?

Poll-level results, 2011: Peterborough »

Poll-level results, 2011: Peterborough

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.