Live Cochrane election results – 2013

Voters in Cochrane have elected a new mayor: former councillor Ivan Brooker.

Former Mayor Truper McBride chose not to run in this election after 12 years in municipal politics, leaving the mayoral race wide open.

Three contenders took up the challenge, and Ivan Brooker won with 41 per cent of the vote, defeating his former council colleague Joann Churchill and candidate David Smith.

Story continues below advertisement

Brooker was a councillor from 2001-2004 and was re-elected in 2010. Last term, he served on the Environmental Committee, Protective Services Advisory Committee and the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board. He also owns a Canada Bread franchise.

Ross Watson, Jeff Toews and Tara McFadden, the three councillors who decided to run this election, also kept their seats.

Mary Lou Davis, who was a councillor from 2004 to 2007, is now back on council along with newcomers Morgan Justice Nagel and Gaynor Levisky.

It was a crowded race for council: There were 13 candidates for the six available seats.

Sponsored content