October 13, 2018 12:10 am

Ontario municipal election 2018: Township of Oro-Medonte

Voters across Ontario head to the polls Oct. 22 to elect their next municipal government representatives. Here are the candidates for the Township of Oro-Medonte.

Google Maps

Located on the northwestern shore of Lake Simcoe in south-central Ontario, the Township or Oro-Medonte is situated within Simcoe County.

With a population of 21,036 (2016), the town is split into five wards. The town’s council is comprised of a mayor, deputy mayor and five members of council.

Harry Hughes is seeking re-election, however, both John Crawford and Sandy Agnew are also vying for the town’s mayor position.



Harry Hughes (incumbent)

John Crawford

Story continues below

Sandy Agnew

Deputy Mayor

Scott Jermey

Ralph Hough (incumbent)

Ward 1

Ian Veitch

John Thornton

Ward 2

Scott Macpherson (incumbent)

Tammy DeSousa

Ward 3

Phil Hall (incumbent)

Cathy Keane

Ward 4

Errin Dickins

Bruce Wiggins

Shawn Scott

Ward 5

Randy Greenlaw

Joan Kelly

Population (2016)


Median total income of two-or-more-person households (2015)


Political representation


Alex Nuttall (Conservative Party of Canada) – Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte


Doug Downey (Progressive Conservative) – Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on globalnews.ca, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.

Global News