Quebec Tourism Minister Julie Boulet not seeking re-election

Julie Boulet respnds to questions at the legislature in Quebec City. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jacques Boissinot

A fifth member of Quebec Premier Philippe Couillard‘s Liberal cabinet has announced she won’t seek re-election later this year.

READ MORE: Quebec Immigration Minister David Heurtel not seeking re-election

Tourism Minister Julie Boulet says she no longer has the energy or the motivation to run again.

“Politics has occupied an important place in my life, but the frantic pace, the demanding schedules and having to be so widely available to do my job properly led me to make this difficult decision,” she told a news conference in Trois-Rivieres.

Boulet, 58, has been a member of the legislature since 2001 when she was elected in the riding of Laviolette in a byelection.

WATCH BELOW: Will more Quebec Anglos run in the next election?

Click to play video: 'Will more Quebec Anglos run in the next election?' Will more Quebec Anglos run in the next election?
Will more Quebec Anglos run in the next election? – May 2, 2018

She has held various other cabinet portfolios over the years, including transport and employment.

Story continues below advertisement

“Today, I can announce I am leaving and tell myself, ‘Mission accomplished,”’ Boulet said.

“But I’m having mixed feelings. I’m proud to have had a rich and thrilling professional life, but I’m also sad to be leaving my constituents who have been like a big family for me,” she said.

READ MORE: Liberal MNA Jean-Marc Fournier won’t seek re-election

Before entering politics, Boulet was a pharmacist and pharmacy owner in Saint-Tite.

She joins fellow cabinet ministers  Martin CoiteuxStephanie Vallée and Jean-Marc Fournier and David Heurtel in deciding to pack it in.

READ MORE: Quebec Justice Minister Stephanie Vallée won’t seek re-election

Two other cabinet ministers are reportedly contemplating their futures — Agriculture Minister Laurent Lessard and Native Affairs Minister Geoffrey Kelley.

About 10 Liberal backbenchers have also confirmed they won’t seek re-election in the Oct. 1 vote.


Sponsored content