Ontario election 2018: Mississauga East—Cooksville riding

Voters in Mississauga East—Cooksville have elected Kaleed Rasheed of the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario as their MPP in the 2018 provincial election.


Liberals: Dipika Damerla (incumbent)
PC: Kaleed Rasheed (elected)
NDP: Tom Takacs
Green: Basia Krzyzanowski

Global News is only featuring the candidates for the four main parties. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Ontario


The riding makes up the central and eastern parts of Mississauga. Its boundaries are Mavis Road on the west, Central Parkway, Highway 403 and Eglinton Avenue East on the north, Etobicoke Creek and the Mississauga-Toronto border on the east, and Queensway on the south.


The riding of Mississauga East–Cooksville saw its boundaries shifted after the 2014 Ontario election as a part of a provincial riding redistribution process that saw new ridings created and several existing riding boundaries changed. Mississauga East—Cooksville saw the northwest part of the old riding moved to the new riding of Mississauga Centre and the southern part of the old Mississauga—Brampton South riding incorporated into the new Mississauga East—Cooksville riding. Dipika Damerla, who most recently served as the Minister of Seniors Affairs, is seeking her third term representing Mississauga East—Cooksville. She was first elected provincially in 2011 and succeeded Liberal MPP Peter Fonseca.


Sponsored content