B.C. municipal election 2018: Elkford results

Dean McKerracher has been acclaimed as mayor in the District of Elkford.

Craig Robinson, Mandy McGregor and Steve Fairbairn were elected to council, along with Duncan McDonald, Len Gostick and Andrew Klapp.



Dean McKerracher (incumbent) – acclaimed


Denis Bertrand (incumbent)

Colin Cross

Steven Fairbairn (incumbent)

Len Gostick

Darren Halladay

Tracy James

Andrew Klapp

Story continues below advertisement

Duncan McDonald

Mandy McGregor (incumbent)

Craig Robinson (incumbent)

Deven Stadnyk


A Rocky Mountain community located just north of Sparwood, Elkford is found in the Elk Valley, near B.C.’s border with Alberta.

Population (2016)



First, the Elk Valley was populated by the Ktunaxa peoples.

But permanent settlement didn’t happen there until the start of the 20th century.

Most were interested in coal mines, opting for places such as Michel, Middletown and Natal, but some, such as pioneer Mathias Baher, ended up in Elkford.

Baher owned a major share of the land that would form the town of Elkford. Sewer and water lines came in following the sale of some of these lands to the Fording Coal Company.

Elkford was incorporated as a district in 1971.

With coal forming a key part of its economy, Elkford has undergone boom and bust. But the community has found appeal with people looking to buy vacation homes there.

Story continues below advertisement

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Wayne Stetski (NDP)


Tom Shypitka (BC Liberal)