Regina Sports Hall of Fame

For the eighth straight year the Regina Sports Hall of Fame is honouring people who have contributed to sports within the city by inducting them into the Hall.

This year’s inductees into the Regina Sports Hall of Fame are Jamie Heward (athlete; hockey), Mike Sillinger (athlete; hockey), Rob Pyne (athlete; football, basketball); Sam Stewart (builder; basketball); Jim Park (athlete; rally driving) and the Kiwanis Club of Wascana (patron; football).

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

The eighth annual induction ceremony is slated for Thursday, October 7, 2010, inside the Regina Inn’s Wascana Ballroom. The event starts at 7 p.m. with snacks and a cash bar. Tickets cost $25 each and $15 for children (12 and under). Tickets are available from RSHF directors and ceremonies chair Cathy Glasser (584-7230).

There are now 48 inductees into the RSHF — 20 athletes, 17 builders, eight teams and three patrons. There are also 150 honourary members with Regina connections who had previously been inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame.

Story continues below advertisement

The Regina Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization that was formed to honour athletes, builders, teams and patrons who have contributed to sports in Regina. We plan to soon move our display site into a new building on Evraz Place. Information and the list of past inductees are available on our website:
Nominations must be submitted by May 1 annually.

Sponsored content