July 10, 2017 3:52 pm
Updated: July 10, 2017 3:59 pm

Members named to mobility pricing panel in Metro Vancouver

Metro Vancouver has taken another step toward mobility pricing -- that means different rates for road travel -- depending on how far you go, and how much you drive. The mayor’s council unveiling the "mobility pricing independent commission" today -- and as Jordan Armstrong reports, its main job is to now figure out exactly how it's going to work.


The panel tasked by the Mayor’s Council and TransLink to look at the possibility of mobility pricing on Metro Vancouver roads has been named.

One of the 12 new members includes former BC Liberal cabinet minister Iain Black, who will be joining the Mobility Pricing Independent Commission.

Since leaving politics, he has served as CEO of the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade.

READ MORE: Metro Vancouver mayor’s council sets up commission to introduce mobility pricing for drivers

Story continues below

Former Vancouver City Councillor Jennifer Clarke will also be part of the panel, as well as former BC Trucking Association President Paul Landry.

Most recently Landry was part of the board of the Vancouver Fraser Port Authority.

Gavin McGarrigle – best known as the BC Area Director for the union representing many Coast Mountain Bus Company workers – will also be joining the panel.

READ MORE: The NDP promised to eliminate bridge tolls, but could mobility pricing be on the way?

The Commission will be led by former head of B.C.’s civil service Allan Scheckel as Chair, and former NDP MLA Joy MacPahil as Vice Chair.

“The Mayors’ Council and TransLink 10-Year Vision for Metro Vancouver Transportation committed the region to exploring mobility pricing in order to help reduce congestion, promote fairness and support transportation investment,” read part of a statement by Mayors’ Council.

The commission was launched in June.

Full list of members:

  • Allan P. Sceckel
  • Joy MacPhail
  • Iain J.S. Black
  • Jennifer Clarke
  • Harj Dhaliwal
  • Paul R. Laundry
  • Graham McCargar
  • Lori MacDonald
  • Gavin McGarrigle
  • Michael McKnight
  • Elizabeth Model
  • Bruce Rozenhart
  • Philip Steele
  • Grace H. Wong

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News