Federal Election 2015: York South-Weston riding results

Real time live results available on Monday, October 19 2015 after polls close. Overall results will be available here.

Summary: NDP incumbent Mike Sullivan was elected here in 2011, in what had been a Liberal stronghold for decades. He is seeking re-election.

Boundaries: There are no boundary changes in this riding. It stretches from the 401 in the north to Dundas Street in the south. It’s western boundary is the Humber River, and it stops just short of Caledonia Road in the east. Neighbourhoods include Maple Leaf, Del Ray, Silverthorne and Mount Dennis.

Last Election: The NDP’s Sullivan defeated the Liberal incumbent Alan Tonks by 2,580 votes, a margin of more than 7 per cent.

History: Sullivan’s win in 2011 was his second attempt in this riding. Tonks held it for the Liberals from 2000-2011. Prior to Sullivan’s win, voters here had elected only Liberal MPs, with one exception: John Nunziata, first elected as a Liberal in 1984, was elected as an independent candidate in 1997.

Demographics: 20.8 per cent of residents were identified as Black in the 2011 National Household Survey, third highest in the country.


Conservative: James Robinson

NDP: Mike Sullivan, MP since 2011

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Ahmed Hussen, lawyer

Green: John Johnson

Libertarian: Stephen Lepone

Sponsored content