Federal Election 2015: Etobicoke-Lakeshore riding results

Summary: Etobicoke-Lakeshore was the scene of Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff’s defeat in 2011. The Conservative who ousted him, Bernard Trottier, is running for re-election. The Liberal candidate is James Maloney, who was briefly appointed to Toronto City Council in 2014 to represent Ward 5, after the resignation of Peter Milcyzn who was elected provincially.

Boundaries: This riding sees only a minor boundary change for 2015, with a small area between Bloor Street and Burnhamthorpe Road moving into the riding of Etobicoke Centre. Neighbourhoods in this riding include Long Branch, Alderwood, New Toronto, Mimico, Humber Bay, Lambton Mills, and Six Points.

Last Election: Conservative Bernard Trottier defeated Liberal Michael Ignatieff by a margin of 5 per cent. Had these riding boundaries been in effect in 2011, it would still have been a Conservative victory, with 40.2 per cent of votes, followed by the Liberals with 35.1 per cent.

History: This riding was a Liberal stronghold from 1993 until Ignatieff’s defeat in 2011.


Conservative: Bernard Trottier, MP

NDP: Phil Trotter, lawyer and mediator

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: James Maloney, lawyer

Green: Angela Salewsky, business development manager

Marxist-Leninist: Janice Murray

Animal Alliance Environment Voters: Liz White

Sponsored content