Alberta Election 2015: Alberta Party leader Greg Clark wins Calgary-Elbow

WATCH ABOVE: As the first to win a seat from the Alberta Party, party leader Greg Clark thanked his supporters at the party headquarters.

Greg Clark, leader of the Alberta Party won the seat of Calgary-Elbow, beating Education Minister Gordon Dirks, who congratulated the new MLA on Twitter.

The south-central riding of Calgary-Elbow was created in 1971 and held by the Progressive Conservatives, including former premiers Ralph Klein and Alison Redford, for all but one year when the party lost the riding in a 2007 byelection to the Liberals, reclaiming the riding in the 2008 general election.

Story continues below advertisement

It was the home riding of Premier Ralph Klein between 1989 and January 2007.

Dirks, who was appointed as Education Minister before he held a seat, won the riding in a 2014 by-election, but Clark came a close second, just 800 votes behind.


  • Alberta Party: Greg Clark
  • Liberal: John Roggeveen
  • NDP: Catherine Wellburn
  • Progressive Conservative: Gordon Dirks (incumbent)
  • Alberta Social Credit Party: Larry R. Heather
  • Wildrose: Megan Brown

 Click here for full provincial election results.