Gilroy wins in Daniel McIntyre defeating Harvey Smith

Winnipeg election voting
Winnipeggers vote for a new mayor, council and school trustees Wednesday. Lara Schroeder / Global News

Cindy Gilroy won a nail-biter in the Daniel McIntyre council race winning by 591 votes over runner-up Keith Bellamy.

Long-time councillor and incumbent in the race Harvey Smith finished third with 3,284 votes.

Gilroy,  who lost to Smith in 2010 finishing a close second, works as constituency assistant to provincial NDP Minister Kevin Chief and joins a number of new councillors coming to city hall.

She won the election with 4,209 votes to Bellamy’s 3,618. Gilroy also beat out candidates Dave Donaldson, John Cardoso and Godwin Smith.

Story continues below advertisement