Saskatchewan NDP leadership election moved forward

The next leader of the Saskatchewan NDP will now be chosen on March 3, 2018. File / Global News

The next leader of the Saskatchewan NDP will be elected two months sooner than expected.

The provincial council of the party met Saturday in Moose Jaw, where they voted in favour of changing the date of their leadership convention to March 3, 2018.

READ MORE: Vicki Mowat MLA-elect for Saskatoon Fairview

The date had previously been set for May 6, 2018.

Regina Douglas Park MLA Nicole Sarauer was elected interim leader of the Saskatchewan NDP in June. She replaced Trent Wotherspoon, the MLA for Regina Rosemont, and is the first woman to lead the Saskatchewan NDP.

READ MORE: Saskatchewan Party to elect new leader in January

The deadline to enter the leadership race is Jan. 12, 2018.

Story continues below advertisement

The deadline to purchase a Saskatchewan NDP membership to be eligible to vote will be Jan. 19, 2018. Members will be eligible to vote online or by mail-in ballot.

Sponsored content