July 7, 2017 5:27 am
Updated: July 7, 2017 8:57 am

Terror, trade, climate to be discussed as G20 summit in Germany gets underway

Ahead of his first face-to-face meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin, U.S. President Donald Trump faces tremendous pressure to confront Putin over meddling in the 2016 U.S. election. Jackson Proskow reports.


HAMBURG – The Group of 20 leaders’ summit is getting underway Friday in the German port city of Hamburg in the wake of clashes between police and protesters, with terrorism, global trade and climate change among the issues on the agenda.

The host, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, says she hopes to find “compromises and answers” on a range of issues at the two-day meeting of leading industrial and developing nations. While there’s little disagreement on fighting terrorism, prospects of finding common ground on climate change and trade look uncertain.

Story continues below

The meeting follows skirmishes Thursday evening between police and protesters elsewhere in Germany’s second-biggest city. Police said that at least 76 officers were hurt, one of whom had to be taken to a hospital with an eye injury after a firework exploded in front of him.

READ MORE: Trump-Putin dynamics to be put under the microscope at G20 meet

On Friday morning, dozens of protesters attempted to block cars from accessing the summit, being held at the trade fair grounds in downtown Hamburg, but they were quickly thwarted by police.

Further away in the city’s Altona district, police said people set several parked cars alight and attacked a police station, though the situation quickly calmed down.

The city has boosted its police with reinforcements from around the country and has 20,000 officers on hand to patrol Hamburg’s streets, skies and waterways.

READ MORE: G20: Trudeau’s sunny ways to be tested as tensions run high in Hamburg

The G-20 comprises Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Germany, France, Britain, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United States and the European Union.

Also attending the summit are the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Guinea, Senegal, Singapore and Vietnam.

© 2017 The Canadian Press

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.