January 22, 2016 1:59 pm
Updated: January 22, 2016 2:34 pm

Civilian to chair Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners

Darlene Brander, one of the board's two civilian members, is the head of the board overseeing police. Mayor Don Atchison formerly held the position.

Dayne Winter / Global News

SASKATOON – A member of the public will lead the city’s Board of Police Commissioners going forward, taking over for Saskatoon Mayor Don Atchison. Darlene Brander is the new chair of the board, following a nomination from commissioner Darren Hill.

Atchison led the board since his election in 2003. He remains a board commissioner, along with city councillors Hill and Charlie Clark.

The board’s other civilian member is Carolanne Inglis-McQuay.

Story continues below

“The function of the Commission is to provide policing service, to maintain a reasonable standard of law enforcement and to provide adequate and reasonable facilities as required,” according to the City of Saskatoon website.

READ MORE: Saskatoon woman’s curfew request turned down

City council has previously discussed the idea of adding two more members of the public to the board.

“The balance and the weight of the commission should be civilian appointments and that council still maintain their three seats, to four civilian appointees,” Hill said.

Commissioners are appointed for one-year terms.

© 2016 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News