November 3, 2015 4:49 pm
Updated: November 4, 2015 3:53 pm

Watch live: Justin Trudeau, cabinet ministers to be sworn in


Latest News: 

A short ceremony Wednesday will make it official: Justin Trudeau will be Canada’s prime minister.

Trudeau will also unveil the roughly 30 of his 184 caucus colleagues who will make up his cabinet in a ceremony on Parliament Hill.

Trudeau has put some pre-requisites on who can be a part of his cabinet: There needs to be 50/50 gender representation, a minister representing every province, and a degree of ethnic diversity that reflects Canada’s makeup.

Story continues below
Global News

The newly-minted cabinet members will have to take on some of the country’s most important and timely issues, including electoral reform, legalizing marijuana, revamping bill C-51, figuring out various pipeline projects, how to get 25,000 refugees here in a couple months, and investing billions in infrastructure. Among other things.

While you’re waiting to find out who gets what portfolio, or if you’re disappointed by Trudeau’s choices, you can make your own.

The ceremony starts at 10:30 a.m. ET (7:30 a.m. PST) but Global News has a live special hosted by Tom Clark and Jacques Bourbeau starting at 9:30 a.m. ET (6:30 a.m. PST) which you can watch in the video player above.

The ceremony will finish at approximately 11:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. PST) The stream will break for approximately 50 minutes until Canada’s new prime minister comes back to address the media at 12:20 p.m (9:20 a.m. PST)

You can also follow along in the live blog below for the latest from Monique Muise who will be live-tweeting from the ceremony.

Report an error


Global News