July 7, 2015 1:05 pm
Updated: July 8, 2015 9:56 am

‘Who Deleted Me’ app lets you see who has unfriended you on Facebook

A A

UPDATE (July 8): Facebook has asked the developer of “Who Deleted Me” to remove the app, as it violates the social network’s platform policies.

“We take action against any app that violates our terms and policies,”  a Facebook spokesperson told Global News.

Facebook’s policy states that developers must “respect the limits placed on Facebook functionality,” which includes not notifying users when someone unfriends them.

Story continues below
Global News

At time of publishing the app remained available for download.

——

TORONTO – In this day and age, unfriending someone on Facebook is the social networking equivalent to phasing them out of your group of friends.

But a new app called “Who Deleted Me” allows you to see if that old friend really deleted you from Facebook, or if they just deactivated their account.

The app, which is available for iOS and Android devices and as an extension in Google’s Chrome browser, creates a list of friends who have unfriended you. It will also notify you in the event someone unfriends you.

But the app won’t be able to tell you who has unfriended you in the past – it only keeps track of friends who have removed you once you download your contact list from Facebook.

According to Mashable, the app first launched in 2009 but Facebook disabled it because it “circumvented their intended limitations.”

On Tuesday, some users reported the app was experiencing outages. Some Google Play users also noted that the app wouldn’t load on their devices.

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error

Comments

Global News