Edmonton-raised Alphonso Davies among notable names on Canada’s preliminary Gold Cup roster

Canada's Alphonso Davies, who isn't playing due to an injury, watches as his teammates warm up before a CONCACAF Nations League qualifying soccer match against French Guiana in Vancouver, on Sunday March 24, 2019. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

Veteran Atiba Hutchinson and teenager Alphonso Davies highlight Canada’s preliminary 40-man roster for this summer’s Gold Cup.

CONCACAF, the governing body for North and Central America and the Caribbean, released the extended rosters Monday for the 16-team continental championship that runs June 15 to July 7.

The final 23-player squads will be announced the first week of June. Only injury-related changes will be allowed after that, up until 24 hours before each team’s first match. Any injury replacements must come from the preliminary 40-player roster.

The 36-year-old Hutchinson, a former Canadian captain who plays his club soccer in Turkey for Besiktas, has won 81 caps. The 18-year-old Davies, who joined Bayern Munich in January, has made nine appearances for Canada.

READ MORE: Alphonso Davies likely a no-go for Canada vs. French Guiana match in Vancouver

Watch below: Some Global News videos about Alphonso Davies.

Story continues below advertisement

Eighteen of the 40 Canadians come from MLS teams with five from the Vancouver Whitecaps (Derek Cornelius, Maxime Crepeau, Doneil Henry, Brett Levis and Russell Teibert), four from the Montreal Impact (Zachary Brault-Guillard, Anthony Jackson-Hamel, James Pantemis and Samuel Piette) and three from Toronto FC (Ashtone Morgan, Noble Okello and Jonathan Osorio).

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

Other veterans include Scott Arfield, Milan Borjan, Junior Hoilett, David Edgar, Dejan Jakovic, Will Johnson and Tosaint Ricketts.

In addition to Davies, young guns include Ballou Tabla, Jonathan David, Liam Millar, Mark-Anthony Kaye and Alessandro Busti. The roster also includes the uncapped Levis, Okello and Orlando defender Kamal Miller.

Canada, currently ranked 78th in the world, kicks off the 15th edition of the continental championship on June 15 against unranked Martinique in Group A play at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. John Herdman’s team will then play No. 18 Mexico on June 19 in Denver and No. 174 Cuba on June 23 in Charlotte, N.C.

The top two teams in the group will advance to the quarter-finals.

Toronto FC’s Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore and Montreal’s Daniel Lovitz are on the U.S. preliminary roster. TFC forward Jordan Hamilton and midfielder Marky Delgado were not chosen by Canada and the U.S., respectively.

Montreal Impact forward Omar Browne is included on the Panama list.

Story continues below advertisement

Forge FC goalkeeper Quillan Roberts and forward Emery Welshman are included on the Guyana roster while Haiti has Ottawa Fury forward Christiano Francois. FC defender Edmonton Kareem Moses and HFX Wanderers goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams are in the Trinidad and Tobago squad.

Canada Roster

Goalkeepers: Milan Borjan, Red Star Belgrade (Serbia); Alessandro Busti, Juventus FC (Italy); Maxime Crepeau, Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS); Jayson Leutwiler, Blackburn Rovers (England); James Pantemis, Montreal Impact (MLS); Simon Thomas, KFUM-Kameratene Oslo (Norway).

Defenders: Samuel Adekugbe, Valerenga Fotball (Norway); Zachary Brault-Guillard, Montreal Impact, (MLS); Derek Cornelius, Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS); David Edgar, Hartlepool United (England); Raheem Edwards, Chicago Fire (MLS); Marcus Godinho, Heart of Midlothian (Scotland); Andre Hainault, FC Kaiserslautern (Germany); Doneil Henry, Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS); Dejan Jakovic, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Manjrekar James FC Midtjylland (Denmark); Mark-Anthony Kaye, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Brett Levis, Vancouver Whitecaps FC (MLS); Ashtone Morgan, Toronto FC (MLS); Adam Straith, Sportfreunde Lotte (Germany).

Midfielders: Scott Arfield, Glasgow Rangers (Scotland); Juan Cordova, CD Huachipato (Chile); Atiba Hutchinson, Besiktas (Turkey); Will Johnson, Orlando City (MLS); Noble Okello, Toronto FC (MLS); Liam Millar, Kilmarnock (Scotland); Kamal Mller, Orlando City (MLS); Jonathan Osorio, Toronto FC (MLS); Ballou Tabla, Albacete Balompie (Spain); Samuel Piette, Montreal Impact (MLS); Russell Teibert, Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS); David Wotherspoon, St. Johnstone (Scotland).

Forwards: Tesho Akindele, Orlando City (MLS); Lucas Cavallini, Club Puebla (Mexico); Jonathan David, KAA Gent (Belgium); Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich (Germany); Junior Hoilett, Cardiff City (Wales); Anthony Jackson-Hamel, Montreal Impact (MLS); Cyle Larin, Besiktas (Turkey); Tosaint Ricketts, FK Suduva (Lithuania).

Sponsored content